Friday, November 9, 2012

VMware SRM Actual Failover and Failback

It is a five steps process for Failover and Failback
1.Protect the VMs on the Primary Site
This is the initial step where you configure Protection Group, it protects the VMs
2. Failover the VMs to Recovery Site
When disaster happens we need to initiate failover from Primary Site to Recovery Site
3. Re-Protect the VMs
When the Actual Primary Site is up after the Disaster you re-protect the VMs
This will enable the replication from CP (DR)to IS (PR)
4. Failback the VMs to the Primary Site
Let the Synchronization completed from CP (DR)to IS (PR)
Announce down time for the failback to happen
Initiate the Failback to the Primary Site
5. Re-Protect the VMs
Once all the VMs are up we have to re-protect
It will enable replication as usual
Following screenshot will display of the Actual Failover and Failback

Failover Recovery


Once the Primary Site is backup you Re-Protect which will enable replication back to the original site

Failback Recovery

Once the replication starts working again you can failback the VMs back to the original site


Once the Failback is happened you enable the replication to the DR environment
You are back to the original state.

1 comment:

  1. you have explained the blog very well, but the pictures are not clear what you have posted, as well as i want to know after fail over process what are the license requirements for fail back can you please explain.

    VmWare Training in Chennai